Basic Workflow

By Customer Success Managers
April 18, 2015

The basic workflow is the default out of the box workflow you can use to move your content through stages from Draft to Live to Archive. I recommend using the basic workflow to get started, you can customize as many workflows as you need once you are familiar with how you can use them. We are only going to discuss the basic workflow in this video, in upcoming videos we'll talk about customizing workflows and assigning users to user groups so they can move content through the workflow. 

The lifecycle of content moves from Draft to Pending, where it can be sent backwards to a Rejected state to be edited by the author, or moved to Stage where the content is published or scheduled to go Live on your site. The workflow doesn't end there, live content needs to be fresh so, from the Live state content is Retired. In the Retired state content is no longer visible on your site but it is still available in your CMS. After 30 days Retired content is moved to the Archived state where it is hidden from view in the CMS but you can still retrieve it if you need it. With content moving through states conflicts can happen, conflicts in the workflow create branches so that there is only one live branch at any given time. Conflicts are noted in the workflow with a double-arrow icon.

 

Every time you create an asset or file in Crownpeak, you are going to name the file, apply a template, and select a workflow. You can also apply a workflow to folders but we'll discuss that in the advanced workflow video. Applying a workflow is necessary every time you create an asset. You will create models for users to create and upload assets, having a workflow assigned to every asset in a model will ensure the content is delivered properly, so make sure all your test files and models have a workflow. Workflows are created by the Administrator group, Authors and Editors who are not part of the Admin group should not create or assigned workflows.

You can set up email alerts for users who need to know when content is moved to a particular state and requires action on their part.  You can also set a schedule and manage content moving through the states from Draft to Live. You should assign users to groups before you can enable their email alerts, check out the User group videos on Connect to see how it's done. 

comments powered by Disqus